Glorify God in Your Body – Encouragement #15

In 2015 the Women’s Ministry at Country Oaks Baptist Church is focusing on strengthening body and soul.  We offer the following encouragements as you seek to glorify God in your body:

Encouragement from a book:

I think it’s finally time to talk about fasting. My favorite book on this topic is God’s Chosen Fast by Arthur Wallis. He is very thorough in covering all aspects of fasting.

Let’s start with Wallis’s definition of fasting:

“To fast,” we are told, “is not simply nor necessarily to abstain from food but from anything that hinders our communion with God.” Or they say, “Fasting means to do without, to practice self-denial.”

It is true that there are many things besides food that may hinder our communion with God. It is also true that we need to practice self-denial in general. The fact still remains that “to fast” means primarily “not to eat.”

Encouragement from THE Book:

For the next few devos I’ll be sharing Luke 9:23 in different versions. Here’s the Holman Christian Standard Bible version:

Then He said to them all, “If anyone wants to come with Me, he must deny himself, take up his cross daily, and follow Me.

Matthew 6:17  But when you fast… (notice it doesn’t say “if you fast…”)

Note to self:

Being allergic to so many foods (I can’t eat wheat, soy or corn) has it’s good side and it’s bad side.  On the good side – I simply can’t eat a lot of the junk that’s out there.  On the bad side:  I default to “Poor, poor pitiful me. I have so many allergies, there’s so much I can’t eat – therefore I should be allowed to eat as much as I want of the foods I actually can eat – right?”  Wrong! I need a new default mode.  A default mode of self denial.  I can’t automatically go to “poor, poor pitiful me” when I’m tired or in pain or just generally lacking in self control.

Why? Because if I am self-indulgent it dulls my spiritual alertness and I will lose the battle with sin.

  • John Piper says in Hunger for God:  If we are self-indulgent.. it dulls our spiritual alertness (and) we will lose the battle with sin. We will have sluggish hearts for the Lord – “If you don’t feel strong desires for the manifestation of the glory of God, it is not because you have drunk deeply and are satisfied. It is because you have nibbled so long at the table of the world. Your soul is stuffed with small things, and there is no room for the great.”
  • Oswald Chambers says: The nature of sin is that it destroys the capacity to know that you sin.

Therefore, for quite some time (see Spiritual Theme 2010,  December 28, 2008February 8, 2009,  September 18, 2012) I’ve had three physical goals.

  1. Deny My Self
  2. Strengthen What Remains
  3. Burn the Fat

Fasting helps me “Deny My Self.”

originally published on July 25, 2013 – theWordchick.com

Leave a Reply

