Glorify God in Your Body – Encouragement #13

In 2015 the Women’s Ministry at Country Oaks Baptist Church is focusing on strengthening body and soul.  We offer the following encouragements as you seek to glorify God in your body:

changeEncouragement from a book:

I have benefited from the book You Can Change: God’s Transforming Power For Our Sinful Behavior And Negative Emotions by Tim Chester as I try to change my eating habits.

“The essence of holiness is not new behavior, activity, or disciplines. Holiness is new affections, new desires and new motives that then lead to new behavior.”

(So the question is: Do I love God more than __________? Or when it comes to eating: Will I think long term and love my health and well-being more than a doughnut?

Encouragement from THE book:

Deuteronomy 6:5 (NIV) Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength.

Philippians 3:8,9. Yes, everything else is worthless when compared with the infinite value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have discarded everything else, counting it all as garbage, so that I could gain Christ and become one with him. I no longer count on my own righteousness through obeying the law; rather, I become righteous through faith in Christ. For God’s way of making us right with himself depends on faith.

Note to self:

“We would be well on the way to perfection if we could weed out one vice from ourselves each year.”
― Thomas à Kempis

To me Thomas A Kempis is saying: If every year we uprooted a single fault (like self-indulgence or out of control eating habits) we should soon be on our way to perfection(we’ll never reach perfection on earth but at least we’ll be progressing!) Fervor and progress ought to increase DAILY. We should not rely on our past but have a one-day-at-a-time mentality.

originally published on July 23, 2013 – theWordchick.com

Leave a Reply

