Glorify God in Your Body – Encouragement #12

In 2015 the Women’s Ministry at Country Oaks Baptist Church is focusing on strengthening body and soul.  We offer the following encouragements as you seek to glorify God in your body:

craveEncouragement from a book:

Healthy Eating Go-To Scripts from Made to Crave by Lysa TerKeurst

#7 – I have these boundaries in place not for restriction but rather to define the parameters of my freedom.

Encouragement from THE book:

Philippians 3:18-20  Amplified Bible (AMP)

(My stomach is not my “god” – I don’t have to obey it’s every command to “feed me!”)

18 For there are many, of whom I have often told you and now tell you even with tears, who walk (live) as enemies of the cross of Christ (the Anointed One).

19 They are doomed and their fate is eternal misery (perdition); their god is their stomach (their appetites, their sensuality) and they glory in their shame, siding with earthly things and being of their party.

20 But we are citizens of the state (commonwealth, homeland) which is in heaven, and from it also we earnestly and patiently await [the coming of] the Lord Jesus Christ (the Messiah) [as] Savior,

2 Peter 1:3 (AMP)

For His divine power has bestowed upon us all things that [are requisite and suited] to life and godliness, through the [full, personal] knowledge of Him Who called us by and to His own glory and excellence (virtue).

Note to self:

When faced with temptation I don’t have to just say:  ” I should not do this.”  I can say “I need not do this.”  I need not do this because I have Christ.  He is in control.  Whatever sin offers, God is bigger.  God is better.  This is the good news!

originally published on July 22, 2013 – theWordchick.com

Leave a Reply

