Glorify God in Your Body – Encouragement #7

In 2015 the Women’s Ministry at Country Oaks Baptist Church is focusing on strengthening body and soul.  We offer the following encouragements as you seek to glorify God in your body:

craveEncouragement from a book:

Healthy Eating Go-To Scripts from Made to Crave by Lysa TerKeurst

#3 – When I am considering a compromise, I will think past this moment and ask myself, “How will I feel about this choice tomorrow morning? (when I get on the scale!)

Encouragement from THE Book:

Romans 8:18   For I consider that the sufferings of this present time (this present life – denying the flesh) are not worth being compared with the glory that is about to be revealed to us and in us and for us and conferred on us!

1 Corinthians 6:19 Don’t you realize that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, who lives in you and was given to you by God? You do not belong to yourself, 20 for God bought you with a high price. So you must honor God with your body.

Note to self:

There’s a moment in the movie “Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs” that the mayor does this funny little pantomime saying something like “You’ve got to put your past behind you and look to the future.” I have to stop thinking about how many times I’ve failed to eat right and think about the future when making an eating decision.  I can remember:  One more bite matters. I can understand the importance of how each eating choice counts. Just one more bite matters. Just one more sin matters. I can choose healthy eating habits.  I can think like a thin person.

Thin people:

  1. Hardly ever eat unless their body is hungry
  2. Eat exactly what they want to eat (not just because it’s in front of them)
  3. Don’t eat unconsciously
  4. Stop eating when they are full.

originally published on July 17, 2013 – theWordchick.com

Leave a Reply

