Glorify God in Your Body – Encouragement #2

In 2015 the Women’s Ministry at Country Oaks Baptist Church is focusing on strengthening body and soul.  We offer the following encouragements as you seek to glorify God in your body:

no-grainEncouragement from a book:

from Dr. Mercola’s The No Grain Diet

“How did I become an addict?  It’s hard to recognize that you have an addiction when the majority of people around you share it.  When a widespread addiction is not socially acknowledged, the burden of overcoming it rests entirely on the individual (except if you are a Christian, see below).  Being addicted to grains, starches and sweets today is similar to what it must have been like for an alcoholic living in 1930’s America.  Like an alcoholic, a food addict tries to quietly avoid the addictive substance, but when the pressure becomes too great, willpower collapses.  For the alcoholic, that means reaching for the bottle.  If you are a food addict, that means reaching for a starchy comfort food or sweet.”

Encouragement from THE Book:

I have discovered this principle of life—that when I want to do what is right, I inevitably do what is wrong. I love God’s law with all my heart.  But there is another power within me that is at war with my mind. This power makes me a slave to the sin that is still within me.  Oh, what a miserable person I am! Who will free me from this life that is dominated by sin and death?  Thank God! The answer is in Jesus Christ our Lord.  Romans 7:21-25

Note to self:

What is self control?  Governance or prudent control of one’s desires, cravings, impulses, emotions and passions.  It is saying no when you should say no.

originally published on July 12, 2013 – theWordchick.com

Leave a Reply

